Skip to main content

Kenneth O Morgan

Number 10 under Lloyd George 1916-1922

No previous Prime Minister ran 10 Downing Street like David Lloyd George. His predecessors had governed conventionally; he launched a revolution as profound as that under Henry VIII. This was partly because he headed a wartime coalition government, which called for an …